mopaoff.blogg.se

Keep my x's in a row like tic tac toe
Keep my x's in a row like tic tac toe







keep my x keep my x

You can see a few different scenarios at the end of this post.Īnyways, I wanted to share the way I approached this. There are actually quite a few situations in this perverse version of tic-tac-toe where you’ll have both Xs and Os have three pieces in a row. This might seem counterintuitive given that there are more X pieces than O pieces, but the key is that we are searching for the probability that there will be at least one occurrence of three Xs in a row AND no occurrences of three Os. The answer, interestingly, is around 49%. If he randomly places all nine pieces in the nine slots on the tic-tac-toe board (with one piece in each slot), what’s the probability that X wins? That is, what’s the probability that there will be at least one occurrence of three Xs in a row at the same time there are no occurrences of three Os in a row? When I took my two-year-old with me, he wasn’t particularly interested in the game itself, but rather in the placement of the pieces. One of the games is a tic-tac-toe board, which comes with nine pieces that you and your opponent can place: five Xs and four Os. Here’s the full puzzle:Ī local cafe has board games on a shelf, designed to keep kids (and some adults) entertained while they wait on their food. This weekend’s Riddler Express asks solvers to model a peculiar game of tic-tac-toe where all nine pieces (five Xs and four Os) are placed into the nine slots on the board randomly.









Keep my x's in a row like tic tac toe